homeabout usawards
Recent awardees
Ryan Knowles

"Asian values and democratic citizenship: exploring attitudes among South Korean eighth graders using data from the ICCS Asian Regional Module"

2016 Wolf Award

Ioulia Televantou

"Addressing an old issue from a new methodological perspective: a proposition on how to deal with bias due to multilevel measurement error in the estimation of the effects of school composition"

2015 Choppin Award

Rolf Strietholt

"'Using the World as an Educational Laboratory' Revisited: Methodological Foundations for Utilizing Recent and Older International Large-scale Studies for Educational Effectiveness Research"

2014 Choppin Award

Francisco CerĂ³n Acevedo

"Cross National Differentiation in School Systems and Achievement: Compositional Effects and Contextual Factors in Case of Chile"

2014 Choppin Award

Kajsa Yang Hansen and Ingrid Munck

"Exploring the Measurement Profiles of Socioeconomic Background Indicators and their Differences in Reading Achievement: A Two-level Latent Class Analysis"

2014 Wolf Award

Stefan Johansson

"On the Validity of Reading Assessments: Relationships Between Teacher Judgements, External Tests and Pupil Self-assessments"

2013 Choppin Award

Moosung Lee and Philip Hallinger

"National Contexts Influencing Principals' Time Use and Allocation: Economic Development, Societal Culture, and Educational System"

2013 Wolf Award

IEA Awards

IEA offers two annual awards to recognize high quality empirical research that makes use of IEA data. These awards were established as a memorial to Bruce H. Choppin and Richard M. Wolf, to commemorate their significant contributions to IEA.

The intention of the awards is to encourage and promote outstanding research conducted by graduate students, postgraduate students, and established researchers that uses IEA data.

General entry requirements

The awards are available annually. However, in any given year, the IEA Awards Committee may decide not to make one or both of the awards.

The deadline for applications is 31 March of each year. Candidates will receive feedback within six months of the closing date, and the winners may be asked to present their research at the IEA General Assembly meeting of the same year. For specific award entry requirements, please see Choppin Award and Wolf Award. Research questions may include, but are not restricted to, the following:

  • within-country studies of the background factors behind educational attitudes or achievement;
  • comparative studies of factors related to achievement across multiple countries;
  • methodological issues associated with conducting large-scale educational research investigations of within-country achievement results via examination of data from comparison countries.

Criteria for both awards include:

  • importance of the problem;
  • conceptualization and design of the study;
  • methods of analysis employed;
  • adequacy of the reporting and discussion;
  • reasonableness of the conclusions.

Submissions for the awards are adjudicated by the IEA Awards Committee chaired by Dr Seamus Hegarty (IEA Publications and Editorial Committee). Other members are Dr Dirk Hastedt (IEA Technical Executive Group Chair) and Ms Anne-Berit Kavli (IEA Chair). Additional experts may be added to the committee as required.

Using IEA data

Fifty years of IEA research have resulted in a wealth of data on numerous aspects of international education. The data are managed by the IEA DPC, and are available to researchers free of charge. The IEA DPC has also produced specialized software to analyze the study data, and conducts regular training on the use of large-scale international databases.

© 2011 IEA. All rights reserved.