IEA Constantinos Papanastasiou Poster Prize

The Constantinos Papanastasiou Poster Prize was established in 2017. It is awarded to the best poster submitted to the IEA's International Research Conference (IRC). This biennial conference is a forum for all those interested in IEA studies, learning and teaching practice in international education, methodology and analysis in large-scale assessment, or the policy implications of research. 

The prize is awarded in recognition of Professor Papanastasiou's enthusiastic long-term contributions to building and supporting the educational research community we enjoy today. Among his many accomplishments and achievements, Professor Papanastasiou was the original founder of the IEA International Research Conference series, and hosted the inaugural event in Cyprus; throughout his life he provided dedicated support and encouragement to young and emerging researchers.

Posters are judged by an invited panel of researchers, based on their technical content, design clarity, and visual appeal. Posters must present research work that is less than two years old. As is the case for all IEA IRC contributions, posters submitted for the conference should report secondary/in-depth research results of the IEA studies.

The award takes the form of a certificate and a prize of €500.

About Constantinos Papanastasiou
Constantinos Papanastasiou

Dr Papanastasiou obtained his Ph.D. from Kent State University in the United States and specialized in educational research, statistics, measurement, and evaluation. He was Professor at the University of Cyprus from 1993 to 2008. He also taught as a visiting professor at Michigan State University, the University of Athens, and the University of Crete.

Dr Papanastasiou represented Cyprus to the IEA General Assembly (1992–2008) and was a member of its Standing Committee (1999–2001). He also served as a national research coordinator for the IEA Reading Literacy Study, Language Education Study, CIVED, PIRLS 2001, and TIMSS 1995, 1999, 2003, and 2007. He founded the IEA International Research Conference and organized the first conference in Cyprus in 2004, helped organize subsequent conferences in 2006, 2008, and 2010, and chaired the conference scientific committees.

Dr Papanastasiou is the author or editor of more than ten books and many articles related to the IEA studies. His last project IEA 1958–2008: 50 years of experiences and memories was presented to the IEA members at the 52nd General Assembly meeting in Dublin, October 2011.

Dr Papanastasiou passed away in Cyprus on 20 January 2012.

Previous Papanastasiou Poster Award winners
2019 Stephan Daus, (CEMO, University of Oslo)
2019 Kondwani Kajera Mughogho (CEMO, University of Oslo)
2017 Masoud Kabiri (Research Institute for Education, Iran)