Government of Malta Voted as New IEA Member

The General Assembly has ratified the membership for the Government of Malta, Ministry for Education, Sport, Youth, Research, and Innovation, at the 64th IEA General Assembly meeting in Versailles, France.

The General Assembly ratified the membership after receiving the application for membership, presented by Sinclair Grima, Policy Monitoring and Evaluation Directorate. The Government of Malta has participated in IEA studies since 2007.

Commenting on the appointment, Dr. Dirk Hastedt says: 

“I am delighted to welcome Malta as an IEA member. Having participated over the years in IEA studies, Malta contributes extensively to TIMSS, PIRLS, and ICCS, not to mention the great work we have done together on reducing Early School Leaving in Malta. I look forward to a continued collaboration with Malta as an IEA member.”

See a complete list of IEA members and participating institutions by following the link below.


Image from left to right: Dirk Hastedt (IEA Executive Director), Sinclair Grima (IEA General Assembly Member for Malta), and Thierry Rocher (IEA Chair).