TIMSS 2019

Trends in International Mathematics and Science Study 2019

TIMSS 2019 marks the seventh cycle of the study and will provide 24 years of trends. Conducted every four years since 1995, TIMSS has been a valuable tool for monitoring international trends in mathematics and science achievement at the fourth and eighth grades.

TIMSS 2019 will report overall achievement as well as extensive background information on the home and school contexts in which teaching and learning mathematics and science take place. Like the previous TIMSS assessments (conducted in 1995199920032007, 2011, and 2015), TIMSS 2019 collected detailed information about curriculum and curriculum implementation, instructional practices, and school resources.

The TIMSS & PIRLS International Study Center, at the Lynch School of Education, Boston College, US, serves as the international study center for TIMSS 2019, working in close cooperation with the IEA, and the national centers of participating countries.

For more information, please visit the TIMSS website.

eTIMSS 2019

For the first time, TIMSS 2019 offers participating countries an option to administer the assessment in a digital format.

Tasks will assess students’ knowledge in all the areas covered by the TIMSS frameworks, including algebra, data and chance, physics, and chemistry. For example, fourth-grade students can interact with geometric shapes and patterns to demonstrate their mastery of fractions and symmetry, or arrange square flower boxes to explore the relationship between perimeter and area. Eighth-grade students can help to design a storage building by calculating its dimensions, or plan a plant growth experiment and see the results.

eTIMSS is designed to maintain continuity with TIMSS so that countries who choose this assessment option may still preserve their trend measurements.

TIMSS 2019 Participants

Albania, Australia, Armenia, Austria, Azerbaijan, Bahrain, Belgium (Flemish), Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Canada (with Ontario and Quebec as benchmarking systems), Chile, Chinese Taipei, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Egypt, England, Finland, France, Georgia, Germany, Hong Kong SAR, Hungary, Islamic Republic of Iran, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Japan, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Republic of Korea, Kosovo, Kuwait, Latvia, Lebanon, Lithuania, Republic of North Macedonia, Malaysia, Malta, Montenegro, Morocco, Netherlands, New Zealand, Northern Ireland, Norway, Oman, Pakistan, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Qatar, Romania, Russian Federation (with Moscow as a benchmarking system), Saudi Arabia, Serbia, Singapore, Slovak Republic, South Africa, Spain (with Madrid as a benchmarking system), Sweden, Turkey, United Arab Emirates (with Abu Dhabi and Dubai as benchmarking systems), United States.



2017:           Framework and instrument development work

2018:           Field test (March–April 2018) and main survey data collection for the
                    southern hemisphere countries (October–December 2018)

2019:           Main survey data collection for the northern hemisphere countries
                    (March–June 2019)

2020:            Reporting (release of the international report, December 2020)

2021:            Release of international database and user guide (February 2021)

Major Publications
Costs of Participating

IEA requires each participating country to cover the costs of the study at the national level (including the costs that will allow their NRC to attend study meetings), and to contribute to the costs of coordinating the study internationally.

IEA study participation fees are quoted in IEA International Currency Units (ICU): half of the total payment is billed in US dollars and half is billed in Euro. The fees are standardised for all participating entities.

For TIMSS 2019, the basic fee per grade for participating for four years is 225,000 ICU (= US$ 112,500 plus EURO 112,500). For countries participating in eTIMSS, the IEA development fee per grade is 70,000 ICU (= US$ 35,000 plus EURO 35,000). Please see the document below for full details.

Data Protection

All European countries participating in IEA studies are required to prepare Data Protection Declarations (DPD) to comply with the General Data Protection Regulation (GDPR) of Europe and country-specific amendments of the law. Non-European countries participating in IEA studies may choose either to adapt and adopt the declaration or not to use it if not required by law. IEA provides Data Protection Declaration Templates to National Research Coordinators so that they may prepare, translate and adapt national versions.